Healing with Pain


By Marie Shriber

http://www.desireunleashed.wordpress.com

This last summer during some difficult times the Lord blessed me with some of the most miraculous times as well. One one of the darkest heart broken days, I had sat down on my couch to cry and feel sorry for myself when the doorbell rang.

My neighbor needed me to translate with my meager Spanish skills to another one of our neighbors in our little apartment community. I hesitantly agreed as I wasn’t really feeling like even leaving my house. After translating as best as I could, my Spanish speaking neighbor asked if I wanted to go on a walk with her and her four children.

I had a great time walking, talking, and singing with them down the street. We ended up getting slur-pees and then returning back to our little neighborhood. As we came back down the street a couple of my neighbors were out on the grass talking- so we joined them.

This whole day ended up being one of purpose and God. In this one evening I met over 10 of my neighbors, planned a community picnic, and had the most amazing God conversation ever. Two of my neighbors and I ended up going out to eat for dinner at a Chinese Restaurant. While there we had the most amazing Real Talk conversation ever. We talked about: life, death, the Bible, heaven, hell, missions and living with purpose. I found out the one of them had been raised a Mormon while the other was a Buddhist by culture… but new their had to be One True God.

We soon returned home and the conversation continued. I heard of the God Stories that each of the women had… and I soon I heard some of the sweetest words I had ever heard,

“I just long to know what the Bible really says. I know it’s the Truth, and I want to know it.”

I thought I was dreaming and then I realized it really was the desire of my neighbor to know God and know what He had done. She decided that she would teach me to quilt if I would teach her the Bible. Not requiring anything I told her we would get together and do just that.

It was a beautiful day.

A day full of purpose and love.

Then time passed… the holidays came… life got harder (my heart broke)… we didn’t see each other much… and I thought I had lost the beautiful opportunity of seeing someone so excited about His Truth begin an amazing relationship with Him.

Then I saw her on her porch.

We talked and we were right back where we had been. She longed to do the Bible Study and even more now that her Daughter-in-law(who now lives with her) was interested as well. So we set a time and day to do Bible Study every week.

This Friday was the first time… and again it was more than I could ever asked for (not only that- but my Mom joined us- which turned out to be an amazing way for my Mom to be able to declare God’s faithfulness in the midst of her own hardship. Which even prepared her to lead another one of her friends to the Lord TODAY!) It was the most beautiful church I’ve been to in a long time! We started with dinner and the questions began!

Amazing questions:
Who is God?
Who made God?
Why is there a Hell?
Who is Satan?
Why do bad things happen to good people?
Why do people die?
Doesn’t He love you more than me?
Are their level of heaven?
How was the world created?
What’s the deal with the end of the World?
What’s the Trinity?

With each question, we turned to the Word and the Lord led us into the answers to the great questions they asked.

We studied the story of Genesis… God creating… His words becoming life… His creation of man and woman… putting His image and life into them… and then the fall.

I now have two amazing friends who continue to seek Jesus… and are looking forward to not only another Bible Study, but going to church and doing whatever else they can to know God and live for Him.

Isn’t He good?

Boy, does He love us!

My dreams and hopes may not have been fulfilled in the ways I thought they should have been… but He gave me more than I could have ever asked for. He is truly giving me life to the full… and I can’t wait for the continued filling.

Lord, I thank you for the hearts you are drawing to yourself. I would have never thought you would use me, right here, right now, in this way. I praise you for knowing so much better than I do. I love you Lord, please continue to have your way. Please continue to restore my heart and love for You- my first love.

